top of page

Lost In The Worlds Perfection

Has anyone else ever had such a vivid expectation for their own life that anything short of that felt like a failure? For the longest time I had a perfect picture of what my life should be; a great job, perfect body, perfect relationships and the perfect house. Little did I know these ideas of perfect, were just the opposite. They were ruining what perfect I had in my life. The perfect that was the little things. Enjoying my morning coffee, cherishing the laughs I had with my friends and family, the winter night cuddles on the couch with my boyfriend, the school I had the chance to be enrolled in and the cute little room I had to myself. I was so dead set on chasing this perfect life I lost sight of those little things. Realistically, nothing is perfect. I was so caught up in perfecting everything I didn’t appreciate my life for what it was. There will always be a better house out there, a better job, a better body and frankly people fight, no relationship is perfect. What is perfect then? Perfect to me is being happy with what you have. Despite anything, I love my family and friends. No fight will ever take away the memories I have with them and the laughter we’ve shared. My job might not make the most money and it sure as heck isn’t easy, but I love it. My house isn’t some huge mansion but I’ve made it feel like home. My body isn’t a shredded six pack, but I’m in shape and I do it because I really enjoy running and working out. Once you start to steer away from this worlds idealism of perfect lives and start to really appreciate what’s right in front of you instead, your own idea of perfect changes. When you picture what you have as perfect it becomes easier to set realistic goals and work towards them because you’re not working to be perfect or fix your life but you’re working to push yourself in a healthier way. I feel much happier trying to push myself to reach my goals without feeling like I HAVE to meet them. So for the start of 2018, try to change your perspective on the world, and enjoy the little things everyday has to offer.

Aspire To Inspire Before We Expire

bottom of page