top of page

Comparison is the thief of joy

Teddy Roosevelt once said "Comparison is the thief of joy". Thinking about my own life, I couldn't agree more. Frankly I see it a lot in my friends and family too. Most often, when we get upset it's because were comparing who we are, what we have and what we can become to someone else. They are so much prettier, there in way better shape, they have a lot more money and so on. what we don't realize is that we can't compare ourselves to anyone because we all came from different places and have traveled different journeys. I use to compare myself to a lot of people, and let me tell you this, I use to get very anxious, stressed and upset because of it. I never accepted myself and I was never happy with who I was or where I was in life. Well how can you be happy when you keep comparing yourself to others? It wasn't until I looked in the mirror one day and compared myself to myself, that I realized I've come damn far. I had been so busy trying to catch up to others and being miserable that I wasn't as far along as them that I didn't even realize how far I had come on my own goals. I had accomplished a lot personally, grown a lot and improved myself in the way I wanted to. When I realized this I began to love myself again for who I truly was; for my own uniqueness. No one can make you feel inferior unless you let them. If you choose to love yourself for who you are and what you have, no one can take that from you. So start focusing on your own shit and ignore other peoples. A flower doesn't compete with the flower growing next to it, it just grows and blooms into its own form. Wake up every morning and be happy with who you are and where you are. Don't be afraid to stay in your own lane and go at your own speed, you will get where you need to go when your ready to get there.


Aspire To Inspire Before We Expire

bottom of page